New at Mutiny Radio: Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Unknown Mortal Orchestra/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra/ Fat Possum Records
Review by Ashley Ashtray

Unknown Mortal Orchestra’s first and self-titled release is making waves this summer (catch them at The Independent SF this summer July 26). From their first track, populating the internet, “Ffuny Frrends” and tracks continuing through the album, there’s a consistent upbeat and catchy soulfulness that captures attention. From their funky drumming to their fuzzy guitars, it’s pure indie genius. There’s also a lo-fi feel to their recording, but with amped up psychedelic 60s inspired keyboards (think Black Moth Super Rainbow), it meshes to create an eclectic mix of 60s psychedelia, 70s guitar riffs, and 80s funky drumming for a distinct sound that is only Unknown Mortal Orchestra.

Track picks:
1) Ffuny Ffrends
2) Bicycle
3) Thought Ballune
4) Jello and Juggernauts
6) Nerve Damage!

New at Mutiny Radio: MAKING FRIENDZ

Making Friendz/ Social Life/ Last Bummer Records
Review by Ashley Ashtray
Making Friendz latest release “Social Life” begins with attention grabbing and upbeat track “Situation” with distorted punky guitar riffs and fun sing-a-long lyrics. Unexpected electronica synths make appearances throughout the album, providing a more a poppy sound and more playful girl vocals. With 80s pop vocals reminiscent of Madonna yet the punky elements of Kathleen Hanna, Making Friendz’s “Social Life” is a blend of pure disco punk and electronica. 

Track picks:
1) Situation
3) Don’t Make Me Cry
5) Something to Believe In

Sounds like: Mika Miko, CSS, The Gossip, Miss TK & the Revenge, Le Tigre, The Kills