DJ Food, “The Search Engine” (Ninja Tune)

Review by Salex

Living in San Francisco, I spend a great deal of my daily life on public transit, so I’ve always got my headphones on listening to tunes. Riding on Muni can be an interesting adventure in and of itself, and finding the perfect “soundtrack” can be key in whether or not the experience will be tolerable, let alone even enjoyable. The evening I got “The Search Engine” the K train was packed with a particularly strange menagerie of characters, and listening to this record actually made the time quite interesting. Between the loud teenagers and crazy crack-head banter while listening to these tracks had me covering my face, because the samples ironically fit perfectly with what was happening around me, and I was having a difficult time refraining from laughing hysterically. This is the first full-length release from the DJ Food series, comprised of previously released material from other EP’s which I liked a lot, and I have to say, I really enjoy them even more all together. Strictly Kev is very skilled at pumping beats full of unique music, and spoken word samples. I have been listening to this record over and over, and mixing tracks into my DJ sets ever since I got it. The collaborations with Matt Johnson, Natural Self, DJ, J.G. Thirlwell, and 2econd Class Citizen add to the diversity of sounds and genres on “The Search Engine”.

Genres: Hip Hop, RPM, Funk
For Fans of: DJ Shadow, Kid Koala

Track Picks:

# 2 Giant featuring Matt Johnson
# 5 Sentinel (Shadown Guard) featuring DK
# 6 Prey featuring J.G. Thirwell
# 7 In Orbit Every Monday
# 10 Magpie Music featuring 2econd Class Citizen
# 11 A Trick of the Ear

New at Mutiny Radio: Mux Mool “Planet High School” (Ghostly International)


Review by Salex

So happy about this new full-length release from Mux Mool. Two years ago when I came to this station I wrote about his Skulltaste album, which I really enjoyed. The vibe on Planet High School is noticeably different, and Mux Mool expertly explores varying textures & tempos, keeping the flavor of the record constantly morphing. There is so much diversity on the album, that I was able to drop tracks alongside my drum & bass sets, as well as hip hop sets. The tracks are instrumental electronic dance music, with complex rhythms, samples, and melodies. It is hard to classify Mux Mool into one genre, so if you are looking for plain boring instrumental hip hop, you will not find that here. The album starts out with a laid-back funky groove on the tune “Brothers” that is filled with simple beats and glitchy looped vocal samples that freely flows into an ambient, jazzy monophonic synth pattern as the tempo picks up. I am enjoying the many unexpected tempo and compositional style changes throughout the record. “Live at 7-11” starts out feeling like a groovy lounge track, but quickly escalates into 170 BPM experimental jungle. He still heavily uses his signature array of computer and mechanical blips and bleeps, but with tracks like “Raw Gore” and “Get Yer Alphabets” he adds dubbier distorted bass lines, filters and more varied percussion instrumentation. His use of samples is great too. The last track “Baba” starts out with ambient synth guitar chords and simple shakers that builds up into an uplifting progressive house vibe. What I really like about Mux Mool, is that he writes electronic music that is very musical, well thought out and innovative, pushing the boundaries of where electronic music can evolve to.
Genres: Electronic/RPM, Instrumental Hip Hop, IDM
For fans of: Aphex Twin, Flying Lotus, Shigeto

Track Picks

#2 Live at 7-11
#5 The Butterfly Technique
#7 Raw Gore
#9 Get Yer Alphabets (Guns)




June 2011 Charts are Here!

Mutiny Radio Station Top 10
1. The Dead Kennedys “Mutiny on the Bay”
2. Amon Tobin “Isam”
3. Coppe’ “Artificial Insemination”
4. Pablo Fetti “The Big Payback”
5. Danny Byrd “Rave Digger (Special Edition)”
6. Pour Habit “Got Your Back”
7. Various Artists “Stones Throw & Adult Swim Presents – Chrome Children”
8. London Elektricity “Yikes!”
9. Beard “Beard”
10. Con Brio “From the Hip”

1. Pour Habit “Got Your Back”
2. Beard “Beard”
3. Battles “Gloss Drop”
4. Matt & Kim “Grand”
5. Monroe Monroe “Love Wins”
6. Friendly Fires “Pala”
7. Sleigh Bells “Treats”
8. Electrelane “No Shouts No Calls”
9. Various Artists “Desperate Rock n Roll”
10. Baths “Cerulean”


1. Amon Tobin “Isam”
2. Coppe’ “Artificial Insemination”
3. Danny Byrd “Rave Digger (Special Edition)”
4. London Elektricity “Yikes!”
5. High Contrast “Confidential”
6. Babe Rainbow “Endless Path EP”
7. Bassoff “Missing You”
8. Sabbia feat. Wiosna “Soulmates (Physics Remix)”
9. Vidual “I Should Have Known Better”
10. DV8 “Human Traffic EP”


1. The Dead Kennedys “Mutiny on the Bay”
2. Gutwrench “Uncontrollable”
3. Los Saicos “Wild Teen Punk from Peru”
4. The Only Ones “Special View”

Hip Hop/Soul/R&B
1. Pablo Fetti “The Big Payback”
2. Various Artists “Stones Throw & Adult Swim Presents – Chrome Children”
3. Con Brio “From the Hip”
4. The Herbalizer “Herbal Tonic”
5. 13 & God “Own Your Ghost”
6. AmpLive “Rainydayz Remixes”
7. Digable Planets “Reachin’ (A New Refutation of Time & Space)”
8. Various Artists “The Funky 16 Corners”
9. Ansia “Fight For the Innocents”
10. Various Artists “Bay Area Funk – Funk & Soul Essentials from San Francisco, Oakland, and the Bay Area 1967-1976, Vol. 1”